Accessibility Advisory Committee

Meeting #:
Online Video Conference
  • Councillor Matt Mahoney
  • Councillor Martin Reid
  • Carol-Ann Chafe
  • Asim Zaidi
  • Alessia Commisso
  • Amanda Ramkishun
  • Clement Lowe
  • Mary Daniel
  • Moneira Salic
  • Naz Husain
  • Paul Wilk
  • Steven Viera

To Request to Speak on Agenda Items - Advance registration is required. To make a Deputation please email Martha Cameron, Legislative Coordinator at or call 905-615-3200 ext. 5438 no later than Thursday, June 13, 2024 before 4:00 PM.
Questions for Public Question Period –
To pre-register for Public Question Period, questions may be provided to the Legislative Coordinator at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Following the preregistered questions, if time permits, the public may be given the opportunity to ask a question on an agenda item. Virtual participants must pre-register.  
Virtual Participation - Meetings of the Accessibility Advisory Committee are not streamed live.
To speak during the virtual meeting or if you do not have access to the internet, contact the Legislative Coordinator and you will be provided with directions on how to participate. Comments submitted will be considered as public information and entered into the public record. 

Martha Cameron, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services
905-615-3200 ext. 5438 


Find it Online








Staff Accessibility Resource Team (StART)

Alana Tyers, Manager Service Development, MiWay

Amina Menkad, Planner, Official Plan Review

Amr Merdan, Urban Designer, Urban Design

Amy Camara, Communication Advisor, Employee Communications and Events

Anthony Frigo, Building Plans Examiner, Building

Brad Jakubowski, Landscape Technologist

Dan Sadler, Manager, Compliance, Training and Compliance 

Darlene Utarid, Manager Asset Management Accessibility & Workplace Strategy

David DeForest, Corporate Policies Analyst, Corporate Performance and Innovation

Janette Campbell, Chair, Digital Strategy and Experience 

Jenna Prokop, Community Development Coordinator, Parks Services

Jess Soobramanie, Manager, Recreation - Golf and Arenas 

Joanne Southam, Web Coordinator, Library Social Engagement

John Domitrovich, Manager, Mobile Licensing Enforcement

Julie Phan, Digital Coordinator, Website Operations

Laurel Schut, Manager, Corporate & Department Communications

Mattea Turco, Active Transportation Coordinator

Monika Kennedy, e-Commerce Specialist, Digital Services

Nelson Paiva, Project Coordinator Construction & Special Projects

Patryk Malczewski, Traffic Signals Technician

Robert Travassos, Supervisor Venue Services

Shazia Kalia, Senior Buyer, Material Management - External

Stefan Szczepanski, Manager Parks Development

Taghreed Alz, Accessibility Specialist

Tusma Sulieman, EDI Advisor

Uzma Shakir, Strategic Leader Diversity & Inclusion

Victoria Ho, Financial Strategies

Virginia Kalapaca, Project Leader Landscape Architect, Parks Program Delivery

Wesley Booker, Legal Counsel Labour and Employment, Legal Services

Zainab Abbasi, Planner Culture

Zoe Danahy, Event Producer, Event Planning

Martha Cameron, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services




“We acknowledge the lands which constitute the present-day City of Mississauga as being part of the Treaty and Traditional Territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, The Haudenosaunee Confederacy the Huron-Wendat and Wyandotte Nations. We recognize these peoples and their ancestors as peoples who inhabited these lands since time immemorial. The City of Mississauga is home to many global Indigenous Peoples.

As a municipality, the City of Mississauga is actively working towards reconciliation by confronting our past and our present, providing space for Indigenous peoples within their territory, to recognize and uphold their Treaty Rights and to support Indigenous Peoples. We formally recognize the Anishinaabe origins of our name and continue to make Mississauga a safe space for all Indigenous peoples.”

Any member of the public interested in making a deputation to an item listed on the agenda must register by calling 905-615-3200 ext. 5438 or by emailing by Thursday, June 13, 2024 before 4:00 PM.

Each Deputation to Committee is limited to speaking not more that 10 minutes. 

Pursuant to Section 57.1 of the Council Procedure By-law 0044-2022, as amended:

Deputations shall be received and the matter shall be referred to staff for a report, unless there is a resolution or recommendation passed to “receive” the Deputation. After a Deputation is completed, Members shall each have one opportunity to make a preamble statement and ask questions to the Deputant(s) or staff for clarification purposes only, and without debate.

Public Comments: Members of the Public that have a question about an item listed on the agenda may pre-register by contacting the Legislative Coordinator at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Following the registered speakers, if time permits the Chair will acknowledge members of the public who wish to ask a question about an item listed on the agenda. Virtual participants must pre-register.

Pursuant to Section 58 of the Council Procedure By-law 0044-2022, as amended:

The Accessibility Advisory Committee may grant permission to a member of the public to ask a question of the Accessibility Advisory Committee, with the following provisions:

  1. Questions may be submitted to the Clerk at least 24 hours prior to the meeting;
  2. A person is limited to two (2) questions and must pertain specific item on the current agenda and the speaker will state which item the question is related to;
  3. The total speaking time shall be five (5) minutes maximum, per speaker, unless extended by the Mayor or Chair; and
  4. Any response not provided at the meeting will be provided in the format of a written response.

Accessibility Staff will provide a brief verbal update with respect to the Accessibility For Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA).

Councillor Mahoney, Carol-Ann Chafe, Vice-Chair and Mary Daniel, Citizen Member and Members of the Region of Peel Accessibility Advisory Committee will provide a brief verbal update.

Monday, July 29, 2024 at 1:30 pm
Virtual Online Meeting

Monday, August 19, 2024 at 2:00 pm
Virtual Online Meeting