Accessibility ;Advisory Committee

Meeting #:
Online Video Conference
  • Councillor Matt Mahoney
  • Councillor Martin Reid
  • Naz Husain
  • Carol-Ann Chafe
  • Asim Zaidi
  • Mary Daniel
  • Clement Lowe
  • Amanda Ramkishun
  • Theodore Walker Robinson
  • Steven Viera
  • Alfie Smith
  • Sally Wall

Participate Virtually and/or via Telephone
Advance registration is required to attend, participate and/or make a comment in the virtual meeting. Questions for Public Question Period are required to be provided to Clerk’s staff at least 24 hours in an advance of the meeting. Any materials you wish to show the Committee during your presentation must be provided as an attachment to the email. Links to cloud services will not be accepted. Comments submitted will be considered as public information and entered into public record. Please note the Accessibility Advisory Committee will not be streamed or video posted afterwards.

To register, please email and for Residents without access to the internet via computer, smartphone or tablet, can register by calling Martha Cameron at 905-615-3200 ext. 5438 no later than Thursday, February 2, 2023 before 4:00 PM. You will be provided with directions on how to participate from Clerks' staff.


Martha Cameron, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services
905-615-3200 ext. 5438


Find it Online













Staff Accessibility Resource Team (StART)

Alana Tyers, Manager Service Development, MiWay
Amina Menkad, Planner, Official Plan Review
Amr Merdan, Urban Designer, Urban Design
Andrew Noble, Manager, Recreation - Golf and Arenas
Anthony Frigo, Building Plans Examiner, Building
Brad Jakubowski, Landscape Technologist
Amy Camara, Communications Advisor, Employee Communications and Events
Cate Chasse, Supervisor Library Customer Experience
Cyrus Hiranandani, Traffic Signals Technician, Traffic Signals
Dan Sadler, Accessibility Supervisor, Asset Management and Accessibility

David DeForest, Corporate Policy Consultant
Jamie Ferguson, Manager Parks Services, Parks Services
Janette Campbell, Chair, Accessibility Planning and Compliance
Julie Phan, Digital Coordinator, Website Operations
Mattea Turco, Active Transportation Coordinator
Michael Foley, Manager, Mobile Licensing Enforcement
Monika Kennedy, e-Commerce Specialist, Digital Services
Robyn Heibert, Emergency Management Specialist, Emergency Management
Shazia Kalia, Senior Buyer, Materiel Management - External
Stefan Szczepanski, Manager, Parks Development
Swetha Gadwal, Project Leader Senior Capital Projects, Capital Project Management 
Taghreed Alz, Accessibility Specialist
Uzma Shakir, Strategic Leader Diversity & Inclusion
Virginia Kalapaca, Project Leader Landscape Architect, Parks Program Delivery 
Wesley Booker, Legal Counsel Labour and Employment, Legal Services
Zainab Abbasi, Planner Culture
Martha Cameron, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services





“We acknowledge the lands which constitute the present-day City of Mississauga as being part of the Treaty and Traditional Territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, The Haudenosaunee Confederacy the Huron-Wendat and Wyandotte Nations. We recognize these peoples and their ancestors as peoples who inhabited these lands since time immemorial. The City of Mississauga is home to many global Indigenous Peoples.

As a municipality, the City of Mississauga is actively working towards reconciliation by confronting our past and our present, providing space for Indigenous peoples within their territory, to recognize and uphold their Treaty Rights and to support Indigenous Peoples. We formally recognize the Anishinaabe origins of our name and continue to make Mississauga a safe space for all Indigenous peoples.”

Alana Tyers, Manager Service Development to present on the MiWay 2022 Annual Accessibility Plan

Dan Sadler, Supervisor Accessibility to present on the 2022 Accessibility Annual Status Update

Public Comments: Advance registration is required to participate and/or to make comments in the virtual public meeting. Any member of the public interested in speaking to an item listed on the agenda must register by calling 905-615-3200 ext. 5438 or by emailing by Thursday, February 2, 2023 before 4:00 PM.

Pursuant to Section 58 of the Council Procedure By-law 0044-2022, as amended:

Accessibility Advisory Committee may grant permission to a member of the public to ask a question of the Committee, with the following provisions:

  1. Questions may be submitted to the Clerk at least 24 hours prior to the meeting;
  2. A person is limited to two (2) questions and must pertain specific item on the current agenda and the speaker will state which item the question is related to;
  3. The total public question period time is 15 minutes maximum and shall not be extended by the Chair; and
  4. Any response not provided at the meeting will be provided in the format of written response.

Accessibility Staff will provide a brief verbal update with respect to the Accessibility For Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA).

Councillor Mahoney, Carol-Ann Chafe, Vice-Chair and Mary Daniel, Citizen Member and Members of the Region of Peel Accessibility Advisory Committee will provide a brief verbal update.

Monday, February 27, 2023 at 1:30pm
Via virtual online Conference

Monday, April 17, 2023 at 2pm